HomeLegislatureSenate amends rules to accommodate creation of 9 new committees

Senate amends rules to accommodate creation of 9 new committees


Related stories

Reps move to recover N10trn pension fund

The House of Representatives has resolved to investigate the...

Reps to resume plenary on Tuesday

The House of Representatives has said it will resume...

Subsidy Removal: Reps demand increase in salaries, allowances

Members of the House of Representatives are demanding an...

Kogi Assembly passes 3rd state university Bill into law

The Kogi House of Assembly on Thursday passed into...

Kano Assembly passes bill establishing Rural Access Roads Agency

Kano State House of Assembly, on Tuesday, passed a...

The Senate has amended its standing rules to make for creation of nine new committees.

The amendment also provides that senators contesting for the office of the President of the Senate and that of the Deputy President must have served for at least one term.

The amendment followed the consideration and adoption of a motion on at plenary on Tuesday.

The motion titled: “Amendment of the Standing orders of the Senate Pursuant to Order 109 at the Senate Standing Orders, 2022 as Amended” was sponsored by Sen.Opeyemi Bamidela.(APC -Ekiti).

Opeyemi in his lead debate said the senate standing rule was earlier amended on Aug. 5 to make provision for creation of committees and other sundry amendments.

According to him,there are a number of issues that require further amendments to provide for the creation of additional committees of the senate.

This, he said was in response to the emerging developments that would enhance rules of procedure for a sound legislative practice.

He said the developments had made it imperative to further amend the standing orders to make for creation of additional committees and make their functions and jurisdictions reflect in the orders.

He urge the senate to consider and approve, as it deems fit the proposed amendments.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that the newly  created committees are: Atomic and Nuclear Energy, which would oversee the Nigeria Nuclear Energy Regulatory Commission, Nigeria Atomic Energy Commission and their annual budget estimates.

Others are committees on FCT and on FCT Area Councils.

The Committee on FCT will oversee matters affecting the FCT, Planning and Development of the new Federal Capital Territory and control of development within the Federal Capital Territory and its annual budgets.

The Committee on FCT Area Councils will oversee Area Council Mandate, Area Council Service Commission, Area Council Staff Pension Board, Auditor- General for the Area Council and other agency or department under FCT.

READ ALSO |  Senate screens CBN Governor, other nominees today

The Committee on Sports was split into two standing committees to now reflect the Committee on Sports Development and Committee on Youth and Community Engagements.

The Committee on Sports Development shall include Federal Ministry of Sport Development, National Lottery Commission, National Institute for Sports, Nigeria Football Federation, Sport Arena Development, national and international sporting activities, sports administration and annual budget estimates.

The jurisdiction of the Committee on Youth and Community engagements will include Federal Ministry of Youth Development, National Youth Service Corps, Citizens and Leadership Training Centre, Offices of the Senior Assistants to the President on Community Engagement in the six geo-political zones, youths movements activities and associations and its annual budget estimates.

The Committee on Solid Minerals, Steel Development and Metallurgy was divided into the Committee on Solid Mineral Development and the Committee on Mines and Steel Development.

The Committee on Solid Mineral Development “shall oversee Federal Ministry of Solid Mineral Development, Nigerian Geological Survey Agency, Mining Cadastre Office and Council of Nigerian Mining Engineers and Geoscientist, Nigerian Metallurgical Training Institute, Solid Minerals Development Fund, Nigeria Institute of Mining and Geoscience, National Metallurgical Development Centre, exploration of minerals extraction and quarry, geological survey and minerals investigation as well as explosives.

“While Committee on Mines and Steel Development shall oversee Federal Ministry of Mines and Steel Development, Aluminum Smelting Company of Nigeria, Ajaokuta Steel Development Company, National Iron Ore Mining Company, National Steel Raw Material Exploration Agency and their budgets.

Others are: the Committee on Tourism and Committee on Culture and Creative Economy.

Senate consequently directed the rules and business committee to reprint the senate standing orders with the new amendments.


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.


Latest stories


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here