HomeEducationKano Govt inaugurates Caretaker Committee for ANCOPSS

Kano Govt inaugurates Caretaker Committee for ANCOPSS


Related stories

Unilorin named best institution at 2024 JAMB awards

The University of Ilorin (Unilorin) has been named the...

Jamb releases cut-off marks for 2024/2025 admission

The Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) has pegged...

FG vows to enforce law on 18 years admission age

The Minister of Education, Prof. Tahir Mamman has vowed...

NELFUND sees higher uptake in the north, skepticism in the south

Dr. Akintunde Sawyerr, Managing Director of the Nigerian Education...

The Kano State Government has inaugurated a caretaker committee to oversee the affairs of the state All Nigeria Confederation of Principals of Secondary Schools (ANCOPSS), following the dissolution of the former executives.

Alhaji Umar Doguwa, the state’s Commissioner for Education stated this at a ceremony in Kano.

Doguwa said that the dissolution was aimed at ensuring that members of all associations under the ministry were duly elected.

ALSO READ: 2024 UTME: NSCDC boss lauds conduct of examination in Kaduna

He said that the caretaker committee would operate for three months, preparatory to the election of new executives.

“As you are all aware, the present administration has keen interest towards overall development of the education sector.

“On May 6, Gov. Abba Yusuf will pronounce the declaration of a state of emergency on the education sector and by this declaration, education is going to be the first area of government priority.

“So, while talking about education, you have to look at three basic components which include the students, the teachers and teaching materials.

“We equally need to carry all our teachers along and this can only be done under a well organized and elected association. This brings us to the issue of ANCOPSS.

“As we are trying to promote the welfare of our teachers, we need to have good leadership that unites all the teachers to work as a team to achieve quality education in the state ” he stated.

He named the members of the caretaker committee to include Uwani Balarabe, President, Mansur Liman- Rano, 1st Vice President, Dije Ado, 2nd Vice President, Dahiru Habibu, Secretary General and Ado Shuaibu, Financial Secretary.

He said that others were   Rumasa’u Abdullahi, treasurer, Dahiru Tofa, Public Relations Officer, Alkasim Ayyuba, Auditor General, Ahmad Abdullahi, Assistant Public Relations Officer, Farida Abubakar, Assistant. Secretary, Hasina Yusuf, Editor in Chief and Auwal Yalwa, Assistant Editor in Chief.

The Commissioner said that their selection was based on merit and tasked them to discharge their duties diligently.



Latest stories


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

X whatsapp